Cluster Types

Users must create and configure a cluster type before creating a Kubernetes cluster. Cluster types are reusable, and can be used to create multiple clusters. Cluster type reuse simplifies cluster configuration.

Nirmata provides default cluster types for all major cloud providers. Use the default type as-is, or customize them to suit your needs.

Create Cluster Type

To create a Cluster Type:

  1. Click Policies in the left navigation and select Cluster Types.

  2. Click on Add Cluster Type.

    The add cluster type page appears.

  3. Enter a Name for the new cluster type.

  4. Enter a Description for the new cluster type.

  5. Select Cluster Type from the drop down menu. Options include:

    • Existing Clusters
    • Installed Clusters
    • Managed Clusters (EKS, AKS, GKE)

    Select the type most applicable to the cluster you are creating.

  6. Choose a Cloud Credentials from the drop-down list.

  7. Click the Next button.

  8. Select a Kubernetes version for the new cluster type from the drop down list.

  9. Check the box if you wish to Disable Scheduling on Master Nodes.

  10. Click the Next button.

  11. Choose the cluster add-ons you want applied to the cluster type by checking the box to the right for each add-on selected.

  12. Click the Finish button to continue.

Nirmata creates the new cluster type and returns the user to the Cluster Type Details page.

Note: if Cloud Provider is not specified, Nirmata creates the cluster type using AWS as the default provider.

Next steps: configure the new cluster type. See Configuring Cluster Types for additional details.